BlackUp Mattifying Base- Updated

Black Up Mattifying Base

As a girl with terribly oily skin, I’m always looking  for something that will keep my skin matte through out the day and preserve my makeup. I’ve tried a lot of products in search of a holy grail that keep my face fresh and shine free for an entire day.

Black up Mattifying Base is one in a long list of products that I have tried.

BlackUp Mattifying Base in a pump! Super awesome because we love pumps!

The base is  a thick transparent silicone based gel which applies with an almost velvety feel and finish to the skin. The gel glides across your face smoothly and the texture is one that I enjoy applying to my face.

It is packaged in a glass bottle with it own pump. I am definitely a fan of the pump however based on my own butter fingers I would prefer a plastic bottle like the Black Up Fluid Foundation. I caution you not to use too much as I find a full pump of this product is way too much for my face. Just around half a pump should work. Luckily the pump isn’t difficult to manoeuvre, so half a pump is definitely do-able.

Does this base prolong the life of your foundation -YES

Does it help makeup glide on the skin in a smooth application. YES

Will it keep you matte for the whole day – Not quite. With my oily skin and humid Barbados you can expect to touch up after about 4-5 hours. I would say this is about average performance as my skin typically gets greasy after about 2 hours.

This doesn’t bother me too much because I am a big believer in layering my oil control products.

Black UP is currently found in Pure Source Barbados and in June will be found in Cave Shepherd Barbados. It can also be found online at Blackupcosmetics.com

Have you heard of Black Up Cosmetics?

Have you tried their products?

What is your all time favourite mattifying foundation primer?

-Kim

Update 4/20/2013

The Black UP Primer has been reformulated and is now the Perfect Mattifying Primer.

The formula is now even more lightweight than before and has a slight more watery feel. Preliminary testing indicated that the effects on makeup were the same.


Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up, Skin Care
3 comments on “BlackUp Mattifying Base- Updated
  1. […] cream is a bit thick and does take a little bit of blending into the skin (certainly thicker than Black UPs mattifying gel) which I attribute to the combination of powders and […]

  2. Astrid says:

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

