Product Review – Black Opal Stick Foundation

This cream foundation is packaged conveniently in a stick format that can be applied directly on to the skin and then blended out with a brush, your fingers or a sponge.

It gives a full coverage and gives you an absolutely flawless finish. While not a matte finish, it didn’t sabotage my oil control primer. The velvet finish looks very skin like which is neither matte nor dewy.

The price on Black Opal Products is vary but is usually around 24 Barbados dollars and it is available island wide at various beauty supplies.

However beware of telephones, white shirts,white paper and your hands. This foundation transfers onto everything. I find myself having to wipe down a significant amount of foundation from my telephone at the end of the day.

It was also most distressing to find out that if you touch your face you may move the foundation and worse leave fingerprints!

Because it’s a full coverage foundation in stick form, its easy to think that you should cover your face in stripes and then start to blend. In truth you only need about three stripes of strategically placed foundation to get a full  face covered.

In dimly lit areas such as a bathroom, don’t be surprised if you look a little green. Weird right? Some foundations do contain a little green/yellow pigment which helps to counteract any redness from acne or rosacea. This probably accounts for this weird cast.

Around mid day it started to gather into the laugh lines around my mouth if applied heavily,some thing to be weary of if you have mature skin with some lines and wrinkles.

There is so much to love about this foundation particularly the price which is why I will continue to buy this product. The issues above can be avoided by using powerful and good setting products. At the price point and for the finish this foundation is hard to beat!
Until next post.

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
12 comments on “Product Review – Black Opal Stick Foundation
  1. Oz says:

    This is a pretty well rounded review on Black Opal’s stick foundation. I would love you to try their cream foundation in the compact case and tell me what you think. I’m not so much a fan of the stick but having read other good reviews, I wonder if I should give them a try in another product line. Keep up the good work!

    • We’ll certainly put the cream compact on our must try list. Stick foundations are generally foundations with excellent coverage. If you need coverage I would definitely say go ahead and try.

    • I moved from the stick to the cream to powder compact. It boasts oil control but as I produce enough oil to fry a chicken, I haven’t used it without setting it with oil control powder to find out. I find either brushes or hands work best for daytime application and the finish is a natural matte that stays matte longer than the foundation stick. Using a sponge is my nighttime flawless application technique with this foundation and it works well.

      If you’ve found a colour match with the foundation stick, try the compact. It’s meant for oilier girls and the flawless coverage still remains. I’d say this is moderate to full coverage. I like the perfect look ;).

      Hope this helps!

  2. I find your post very interesting, keep up the work. I actually use the Black Opal line up and I love it. I use the foundation stick, the oil absorbing press powder and the invisible oil blocking powder. I must agree with you when you say that it gives great coverage, but before I mastered the application I too had the same transfer problem. Now I don’t have that problem anymore as I lightly apply 4 short stripes of the foundation stick on my face (forehead, chin and both cheeks) and then blend in with finger; then I give a light cover with the press powder and lightly apply the oil blocking powder to my T-zone area.

  3. fancieland says:

    I love their liquid foundation so much! It was one of my first foundations and the coverage is great. I definitely want to try the stick!

  4. […] There are some serious pros and cons with this foundation that I discussed in this review here. All in all this foundation is excellent for its price and if you can find your shade […]

  5. After looking over a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I truly appreciate your
    technique of writing a blog. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my website as
    well and tell me your opinion.

  6. […] The last item I reviewed from BlackOpal was the Black Opal Stick Foundation here. […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

