Photoshoot emergency! How to get ready for a magazine shoot when you’ve only packed the basics

I am in Trinidad for a two day assignment but while I am here I am offered the chance to appear in Metro magazine. Now who isn’t going to jump at the chance to appear in a magazine? I am thrilled, excited, exuberant until I realize that all I have in my makeup bag are the essentials, no mascara, no bronzer, no contour, no lipstick, my hair is a mess from the drying effects of excessive hotel air conditioner. This fashionista is just about ready to hyperventilate and pass out on the floor.

The morning of the shoot arrives and somehow I manage to pull it together, here is how I did it.

I put my dry crispy hair into two strand twists and I pin them into a style worn by some Nigerian women (channeling the ancestors)

My basic travel kit includes, BlackUp Mattifying base, Fluid foundation (11) Two Way Cake (6), also MAC’s Petrol Blue and Smolder Kohl liners, a basic brown eyebrow pencil and… No that’s it, yeah, beauty emergency!

After applying my base and foundation, I dab a little extra under my eyes to hide the dark circles—BlackUp foundation works as an excellent concealer when used in this way. Then I line my upper lids with Smolder, a deep rich black, and cover half my outer lids with it as well, I use my fingers to blend it into a sexy smoky eye and then add the Petrol blue on top for added pop. For cheek contour I gently swipe the black pencil underneath my cheekbones and blend carefully with my fingers, a quick swipe of the pink gloss that until that moment lay hidden in my camera bag completes the look. I keep the Two Way Cake in reserve, the day promises to be hot and this will keep the greasies at bay later.

Pics as soon as I can get out of the country, oh did I forget to mention that I am stranded in Trinidad and that I ran into Nicki Minaj yesterday and that she’s shooting a video two minutes from my hotel? Another story for another time fashionistas!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up, Styling
One comment on “Photoshoot emergency! How to get ready for a magazine shoot when you’ve only packed the basics
  1. Oz says:

    I can’t wait to see the photos!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

