Is the Clarisonic just a brush?

As a beauty enthusiast I am a certified skeptic. I love all things skin care and makeup but when I read claims like

  • Cleanses 6x better than with your hands alone in just 60 seconds

As per the Clarisonic website, I start rolling eyes, but even the skeptic in me couldn’t resist picking up this gadget in Sephora when I was lured by sample products of the Josie Maran line and it’s pink. I have a soft spot for pink.

Clarisonic Pink 🙂

The directions tell you to move the brush in circular motions while the brush vibrates. It even beeps to tell you when to move on to the next section. Using the brush in conjunction with your favourite cleanser is bound to give you clean and exfoliated skin.

While I do think that the Clarisonic works well I’m not completely bowled over by the results. At its core the Clarisonic is a physical exfoliation gadget (an expensive one) that combines exfoliation with cleansing. It works well for what it does but the average skin care fiend probably has quite a number of cleansers and scrubs available to them that can achieve the same results. The combination of cleansing and exfoliation is great if you crave the convenience.

Be forewarned you can not use this around your eyes. If you are an avid makeup wearer like I am you are still going to encounter a two step process: Remove eye make up, then cleanse face with Clarisonic.

Right now I am using the sensitive brush head, my skin isn’t at all sensitive but because of the exfoliation effect I don’t feel the need to try any of the possibly harsher brush heads. Since this is an exfoliator I don’t feel comfortable using it every day so my brush heads will probably be lasting me more than the 3 months that Clarisonic has  recommended with twice daily use.

Conclusion, the Clarisonic Mia 2 is a great gadget to have but with a little more time investment I can get the same results from a number of my other skin care products.

Until next post.

Kim

P. S. keep reading this week, I’ve got some exciting news regarding brushes of a different kind.

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Skin Care
4 comments on “Is the Clarisonic just a brush?
  1. Dash says:

    Great review, thanks for posting! I’ve heard a lot of buzz (haha) about the Clarisonic brushes but like you I was very sceptical about it … I’ll be interested to see what you think of the other brushes you try

  2. Oz says:

    I love my Clarisonic Mia 2 Bajanbeauty blogger!!! After reading your post, I thought I would put it on my ‘to buy’ list and this month when I passed through Miami I decided to buy one. So I bought the leopard print one. I love it like how you love your pink one. As soon as I used it, I immediately noticed the difference in my skin; it was smoother and felt cleaner than a regular, manual wash. I am committed to using it in the hopes it will improve my skin texture. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

