My Fro and me

Every now and again I get questions about how I manage or  maintain my hair.. I’ll admit to being a bit hair obsessed but these days my hair care routine is pretty consistent and simple for the last two years.

I wash my hair just about every week sometimes I may stretch as long as 2 weeks but that is a very rare occasion.

On my wash days I

1.  Pre poo – Load my hair up with coconut or olive oil

Both coconut and olive oil have been proven to prevent protein loss from the hair. Adding them before the shampoo means the hair is less stripped

2. Shampoo – I’m really not too picky about shampoos. Some are definitely better than others. I tend to change shampoos at will and keep a mental note of the ones that I don’t like. I’m not picky about sulfates in my shampoos although I know a lot of naturals are.

Some Shampoos I like are

Phytonectar- bought from Puresourcebarbados.com

IC fantasia Frizz buster Shampoo bought at No1 Beauty supply

Giovanni Deep moisture shampoo – Natures discount

Creme of Nature Detangling Shampoo

3. I deep condition my hair with a hair mask or a treatment. Some of my favourites have been

Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Pak

Aveda Dry Remedy Moisturizing Treatment Masque

Phyto Karite Ultra Nourishing mask

And if a deep conditioner isn’t giving me all that I need I generally stir in an oil of my choice for a better experience.

4. I use a leave in conditioner.

I only have one recommendation. With out a doubt the only leave in conditioner I feel confident recommending is the Giovanni Direct Leave-in. This is a water based moisturiser which instantly detangles and moisturises my hair. I’ve only been able to find this product in Natures Discount in Barbados

5. I add an oil on top of my leave in. I’ve used coconut oil  and olive oil at this stage but I confess that I can’t stand to smell it in my  hair during the day. I prefer to use grapeseed oil or jojoba.

I almost always let my hair air dry  in large granny plaits. It just makes it easier for me to style.

These days I have taken to wearing my hair in two large french braids, stretched out fro, or a chunky shrunken fro.

I wear all of these styles to work, depending on my mood.

The braid out fro.

The braid out fro.

DSCN1396

Chunky ‘wash and pick’ fro

two big french braids

two big french braids and the evil eye.

 

Most recent twist out fro

Most recent twist out fro

There are other products I rotate into my routine as I feel necessary such as hot oil treatments and homemade leave ins but these are the staples.

What is your hair routine?

Do you have any favourite products?

Until next post.

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Hair Care
11 comments on “My Fro and me
  1. Your hair looks very healthy, I like your routine looks like it is working well for you. I have a similar routine. I co wash 2-3 times a week, Weds, Friday, Sunday. I always say my hair is allergic to moisture because it is always dry but cowashing multiple times a week seems to be working for me. I rarely shampoo only if I use a lot of styling products. I deep condition once a week on Sunday with Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Pak (I love to use that stuff as well, it is amazing!) I always moisturize 1-2 times a day with water, leave in, moistrizer and an olive oil (olive oil has done wonders on my ends)! Keep up the good work with your hair!

  2. Cherish says:

    I love washing my locs! It’s so relaxing. My process is extremely simplistic. I use Organic Olive Oil Shampoo to wash my hair and Hollywood Beauty’s Olive Oil Cholesterol as a conditioner, just standing in the shower whistling for about 5 to 10 minutes. After that, it’s towel try and moisturise the scalp with shea butter. Relock and pony-tail or relock and pin-up.

    Then I be rolling! 🙂 Enjoy your day!

  3. Yomi says:

    Love the look with the 2 french braids.

  4. Melissa B says:

    Wash weekly with cream of nature argan oil sulfate free shampoo then deep condition with ORS replenishing pak with various oils. Spritz hair daily with mixture of water, tresemme conditioner and glycerine, seal with coconut oil. Usually in a bun with edges laid with Eco styler olive oil gel. Massage scalp nightly with jojoba oil.

  5. Lisa says:

    I was weekly but alternate between TGel and Dove/ whatever suits my fancy. For deep conditioning I use Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair with Organic Root Olive Oil Hair Masque and some Herbal Essence Hello Hydration conditioner. Lady at Subway recommended Dream Kids Smooth Edges.

  6. […] Giovanni 50:50 Balanced Hydrating-Calming Conditioner – This is one of my thinner conditioners, I prefer to use much thicker hair masks on my hair. Purchased in Barbados at Natures Discount. Check out my recommendations for hair masks —>here […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

