Review- Black Up Two Way Cake

If you follow the Facebook page then you may know that I posted a photo showing that I was near the end of my Black UP Two way cake  in TW2.

BLack up

The TW2 is my winter* colour when I am paler because I haven’t been to the beach often and TW3 is my summer* colour. Quite often I ended up  blending them as my tan recedes or gets more intense over the last couple of months.

I mentioned on my Instagram @kimprobabli last month that this powder has made it in to my every day work look and it’s because this powder is so easy to work with.

everyday work look

February’s everyday work look featuring Black UP and L’oreal

I find that the powder gives me a medium coverage when applied with a densely packed brush like the Eco tools bronzer brush for those days when my skin is giving me minor problems. You can also achieve the same coverage by applying the powder wet with a sponge as recommended by blackupcosmetics.com but for me it is much easier to use a brush  and the results are the same. You will not get full coverage from this powder which is fine because Black UP only indicates that a medium coverage is to be expected

The powder also works well with less dense brushes, (like your MAC 129) as a touch up powder or a setting powder  that doesn’t cake on the foundation throughout the day.

The website describes the powder as having a ‘natural matte’ finish which is a very accurate description. The powder gives you a fresh-faced look (as described by one of my co-workers) rather than a too matte and flat look that one can sometimes get from powders. Part of the reason for this is that this powder is very finely milled and lies on the skin seamlessly for a definite polished but not over done look, even when you go over board as I have a tendency to do.

The packaging is your basic black shiny plastic which opens up to reveal a mirror,  the product and a separate compartment for the sponge.

As with all foundations, I recommend you use a primer. In February my primer of choice was the L’oreal studio secrets, its in the photo above. Black Up also does a primer of there own that is definitely worth checking out.

Final verdict: I love this product and would recommend it. Avoid the inconvenience  (for me) of having to use it wet by using a dense brush and its darn near perfect.

Product available at Pure Source Barbados , Cave Shepherd Barbados and Blackupcosmetics.com

Until next post.

Kim

* there is no real winter in the Caribbean but this is the best way to explain my paler skin tone when I don’t get to the beach as often as I would like.

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

