Review Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat and my Accountant soul

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before but I’m an accountant.

There is a stereotype that accountants are ridiculously cheap and parsimonious.

While I don’t necessarily think that the stereotype applies to me, I will say that I believe in the concept of value for money.

For this accountant by day and blogger by night the first assessment of value for money is whether I will be able to use an entire bottle of product.

In the beginning- A full bottle of seche

In the beginning- A full bottle of seche

This is where the Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat fails badly. Around the time you hit half way this top  coat becomes so thick and clumpy that it is unusable. The formula at first opening is quite a bit thicker than other top coats I have used but what happens after a couple uses is unbearable.

 

Bottle is still half full but the formula is gloopy and stringy beyond words

Bottle is still half full but the formula is gloopy and stringy beyond words

The only way to get some use at this stage is to add a ton of nail polish thinner to the product. The nail polish thinner helps but it never fully restores the bottle to its original glory.

I used almost a third of this bottle of thinner and it was still a gloopy stringy mess

I used almost a third of this bottle of thinner and it was still a gloopy stringy mess

So already, Seche Vite has failed in my opinion.

Seche Vite also has another curious problem, it shrinks and makes your nail polish pull away from the tips. Seche Vite is the only fast dry top coat I’ve tried so I don’t know if this is common. I found that after about two days unless I am using a truly superior base coats like the Orly here, my polish would peel right away from my nail bed like perfect little nail wraps. Very frustrating.

For all of that the Seche Vite does dry your nails in an exceptionally short time as the brand promises. I can even work with the shrinkage by making sure I use a good base coat, but the fact that I can’t get to the end of my bottle makes the Seche Vite a total fail on value for money.

The parsimonious accountant in me is appalled and the beauty blogger in me is unimpressed.

Seche Vite can be found at Bio Beauty,  Hasting (approximately 25 BBD) and Beauty Exchange, Wildey (aproximately 7.99 BBD) in Barbados. I bought a second bottle after I got an exceptionally good price at Beauty Exchange and before I saw what would happen with the first bottle. I will not be purchasing again however.

What is your favourite top coat?

Until next time

Kim

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Nail Care
5 comments on “Review Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat and my Accountant soul
  1. […] Seche Vite Quick Dry Top Coat – you should know how I feel about this one, just check out the review —> here […]

  2. nubienne says:

    Kim, Sally Hansen has a great quick dry, I have used it for years and it has never failed me.

  3. […] You may or may not remember my first review of the Quick Dry top coat from Seche Vite showed a failing grade because the top coat became a gloopy hard to use mess about half way through the bottle. Well, as […]

  4. […] Seche Restore and Seche Vite I have to give it to these two products. Despite my first impressions (1st review) the revelation that these two must forever be together has changed my entire view of the product. […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

