Discontinued Drama- Matte Blushes from the drugstore and a random giveaway

Recently one of my favourite Youtubers asked what products have been discontinued that you miss dearly.

With out a doubt for me that is the discontinuation of these three matte blushes.

Matte drugstore blushes

From left and going clockwise: Black radiance Soft Honey, Milani Mai-tai and Milani Sunset Beach

What is so special about these blushes? They are affordable, drugstore blushes that show well on deeper skin tones.

Both Soft honey and Sunset beach are nicely pigmented orange blushes that work wonders on women of deeper skin tones. Mai-tai is a coral that pulls a little pink on my skin tone. All very wearable and flattering for the day time.

Finding flattering matte drugstore blushes has always been a serious challenge for me so I really appreciated these. Matte blushes are my day wear blushes and are essential to my makeup stash.

The painful thing about it is that both Milani and Black Radiance have replaced these with shimmer versions instead of more mattes. It just makes me want to  scream..Why!?!

The only  good thing is that if you look carefully sometimes you can find some stock that hasn’t completely sold out. For instance I picked up this Black Radiance Soft Honey Blush quite randomly in Imart Barbados. It was the only one on the shelf. I did see a handful of the Milani blushes in Diamond girl recently though.

Black Radiance softhoney brand new

Other than that I really don’t know where to find good quality affordable/drugstore matte blushes these days.

Do you prefer matte or shimmer blushes?

What is your favourite brand of blushes?

I’m giving away this Black Radiance Blush in Soft Honey. Just comment below on your favourite affordable or drugstore blush.

Open to residents of CariCom countries only and ends May 4th 2013.

Winner will be selected using random.org.

Until next post.

It's Kim Probably...

Posted in Make Up
18 comments on “Discontinued Drama- Matte Blushes from the drugstore and a random giveaway
  1. Mags says:

    I am not a big make-up girl (for lack of a better word), I wear make-up but not very often. I bought my first blush last year. I got it from the make-up place in Sheraton. It is by LA femme called soft beige. I like it becus it suits me. Though, I have been toying with idea of getting a new one. I am trying to up my game,lol! But blush done right really adds to your look.

  2. I prefer matte blushes, I think they look more natural and office friendly plus I think they are easier to work with. My favorite brands of blushes are Black Radiance (of course), MAC, and Wet n Wild. I feel like blushes really help to give my skin a healthy glow, but I do wish there were more affordable blushes out there that show up on women of color

  3. Oz says:

    I actually bought an LA Color blush a while ago on sale for $3.99 in Barbados. It was two blushes in one compact. One a plum color and the other a coral tone blush. At the time I didn’t know I’d like it so much and it was my first attempt at blushes. I’ve gone on to try Inglot and the Milani Sunset Beach mentioned here but if I saw that LA Color blush again, I’d buy it in a heartbeat.

  4. Heidi Aboab says:

    I love alllll of the Jordana Blushes. They are affordable mostly matte, and have decent pigment. The lighter shades double as highlighters and eyeshadows for me. There is a coral shade that gives me the right amount of oomph when I wear a neutral eye. Makes me very happy. Love Jordana blush!

  5. I’m too oily to ever contemplate a shimmery blush. My faves are from La Femme and Sleek. I got the La Femme from the store in Sheraton (I was gonna order it online so I was so excited to find it there) and I made a friend in London buy me all the Sleek blushes she could find. My faves are Sleek blushes in Sahara and Pixie Pink. So pretty, so pigmented and they last all day.

    Did you mean the draw closes on March 4 or May 4?

  6. La Shawn - Colour Coded Makeup says:

    I love MAI TAI because not only is it perfect on me, its perfect on every skintone i’ve tried from light to dark and I have tested it. Because its Matte I have the option on using some highlighter on it for some sparkle or leave it matte when i feel like and I love options. If i had to buy one blush over and over it would be MAI TAI by Milani and its cheap too!

  7. Lucinda says:

    I love Sunset Beach too!

  8. Mel B says:

    Sunset Beach is one of my faves. However my absolute favourite is Sleek’s Sunrise. It’s not matte but it makes me absolutely glow.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

