Review – Pantene Pro-v Truly Natural – Not what I expected

If you follow the Facebook page then you  would have seen on Friday that I posted this photo.

DSC_3399

Recently I received the entire line of the new Pantene Pro-V Truly Natural Line by the Barbados distributor and I was asked to try them and share my thoughts with some of potential retailers at the launch of the product in Barbados.

The Pantene Pro-V Truly Natural Line includes  the Clarifying Shampoo, Deep Conditioner, Curl Defining Custard, Co Wash Cleansing Conditioner, Defining Curls Custard, and Shine Serum with Argan Oil.

truly natural range

Pantene now has a truly natural and a truly relaxed line so when they say truly natural they mean it’s for natural hair NOT that it only has natural ingredients. That isn’t a big deal for me but I know for some persons it is a deal breaker, I prefer to focus on whether I get the desired results from the products.

Shampoo

The shampoo  includes two types of   sulfates and  is described as a clarifying shampoo. Oddly this shampoo did not leave my hair feeling stripped it cleansed my hair thoroughly without leaving that squeaky clean, stripped feeling that one often gets with clarifying shampoos.

What also surprised me about this shampoo is that it wasn’t the translucent almost transparent colour one typically gets with clarifying shampoos. For me that’s a very good thing. My hair is already intrinsically dry due to its tight coils so a clarifying shampoo that cleans my hair without making it feel like a dry haystack is welcome.

Verdict: A good cleanser that cleans hair gently.

Deep Conditioner

The deep conditioner was creamy and thick without being the almost solid texture that can sometimes be found with some hair masks. It spread easily through my hair and allowed me to detangle my hair easily. After rinsing it left my hair feeling soft, strong with no greasy build up.

Verdict: A good deep conditioner that helps in detangling my 4b/4c tightly coiled hair.

To say I enjoyed having the opportunity to share my opinion on hair care products with other is an understatement and one of the main reasons this blog exists today.  So having the chance to share it with the distributor Brydens Stokes and their retailers was a very cool moment for me.

I’m going to review the Co-Wash cleanser and the Curling custard in a separate posts. They definitely deserve their own space. I have a lot to say on the idea of co- washing and what a curling custard is supposed to do if you have tightly coiled hair like I do or more curly natural hair type.

Have you seen these products in store as yet?

Have you tried them? What are your thoughts.

Until next time.

Kim

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Hair Care
3 comments on “Review – Pantene Pro-v Truly Natural – Not what I expected
  1. Wow. I’m surprised. I tried the line years ago and thought it was crap–a bunch of cones, and fillers. Maybe things have changed. You should post the ingredients!

  2. nomad says:

    I’ve been using the Oil Cream Moisturizer on damp just-shampooed hair for years now. It controls the frizzies, esp now that I have bleached streaks and they tend to be dry and frizzy, without heavy greasiness.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

