How I clean my makeup brushes + 2 Giveaways

A couple of weekends ago I posted this photo on the Facebook page with a mild groan about the drudgery of makeup brush cleaning.

and this isn't even all..

and this isn’t even all..

Cleaning makeup brushes isn’t fun but it’s necessary. Brushes not only keep left over product in the bristles they can also build bacteria in the bristles if not appropriately cared for.

I use a gentle but cheap! shampoo and some 100% alcohol for deep cleaning of my brushes. The shampoo cleans and conditions the bristles of the brush keeping them in good condition.

brush wash

The tiniest drop of alcoholย  kills any bacteria and also greatly reduces the drying time of wet brushes.

In between deep cleans I use a quick swipe of MAC’s brush cleanser or Kryolan’s brush cleanser to keep brushes clean in between uses.

How do you wash your makeup brushes?

Important. I always avoid geting the ferrule wet! and lay the brushes flat to dry to avoid weakening the glue that holds the brush together.

And a giveaway!

We willย  be giving away two makeup brush sets over the next month. One winner every two weeks.ย  This giveaway is available to residents of CariCom countries.

How to win?

1. Comment below on how you wash your makeup brushes

and

2. Subscribe to our blog via email, this way you can keep connected for more blog posts and get first notice on giveaways.

and

3. Giveaways end on July 13 2013 and July 27 2013

and

4. The winners of the giveaways will be selected via Random.org and announced on our Facebook Page.

and

5. Check out what you are winning below.

giveaway 1

Giveaway ends on July 27 2013

and

giveaway 2

Giveaway ends July 13

The Mark bag contains the Mark travel brush Kit that I fell in love with a long time ago. You can check out my thoughts here

Wishing everyone the best of luck.

Until next post.

Bajan Beauty Blogger- Kim

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
48 comments on “How I clean my makeup brushes + 2 Giveaways
  1. Chandra Sealy says:

    I use a Victoria’s Secret body wash to deep clean but after each brush use I spray the bristles with ELF’s brush cleaner

  2. Katie Blackman says:

    As an amateur, I don’t do anything special. Just soap and water. I’ll remember the tip about alcohol. I always forget that. :/

  3. Siobhan says:

    I actually never washed my brushes bring very new to this whole makeup thing. Thanks for the tips, I’m about to go wash them now!

  4. Domini Alleyne says:

    Whatever face wash i’m using and alcohol, then i allow the brushes to bry naturally before i used to use the dryer.

  5. Raqs says:

    I wash with a cheap herbal essenses shampoo I have at home that I didnt like on my hair : )

    • Thanks for commenting! I really think shampoo is one of the best options. after all it is designed to clean hair!
      Please remember to subscribe via email in order to make a valid entry. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jennah says:

    I usually soak my in the astringent I use on my face.

  7. Lucinda says:

    I currently use Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap with a little Extra Virgin olive oil for conditioning. For spot cleaning I use MAC’s brush cleanser.

  8. fatima says:

    A bit of clarifying shampoo mixed with some betadine scrub, then lay them out on a towel to air dry. Thanks for the alcohol tip, and about being careful with the glues that hold the bristles together.

    • Betadine scrub is anew one for me! I’m definitely going to investigate that one! Be sure to complete your entry by making sure you subscribe to the blog by email. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for commenting.

  9. Trish says:

    I am a total amateur and as such don’t have any tips of my own to share per se though I am familiar with the alcohol method. I must say though I do find your tips and (tricks – I should call them such) quite helpful and enlightening! Oh, and the response to your question/comp. has been encouraging to me – I imagine to you as well!

  10. Oz says:

    I wash my brushes with shampoo too. Never thought of using alcohol on them so thanks for that tip. I also let them dry tilted down because I had read once that water seeping down into the handle from standing upright could rot them.

  11. Cara says:

    I use some anti-bacterial,dawn dish-washing liquid for the cleansing mixed with a teaspoon of olive oil to maintain the hairs of the brushes. For the drying i invert the brushes so the moisture drains out by gravity and prevents moisture from getting into the ferrule.

  12. According2Mo says:

    I use clean and clear deep cleansing astringent to clean my brushes. Its the only thing that removes all traces of makeup from my face so I figure it must work for my brushes too. I soak a cotton pad with the astringent and wipe them until no traces are left. Takes about 3 cotton pads though… thankfully I don’t have a lot of brushes

  13. Deneisha Holder says:

    I actually use an antibacterial hand soap and some olive oil or vitamin E oil to keep the brushes moisturized. When i finish wash the out i hang then upside down ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Coretta Joe says:

    I use a drop of my Clean n Clear face wash and warm water. Very effective in my opinion!

  15. Tara says:

    I use my face wash. I figure if it good enough to wash my face with, it must be good enough for my makeup brushes!

  16. Mandy says:

    I wash my brushes the same way: cheap shampoo and alcohol!!

  17. Jenn says:

    I normally use brush cleanser from Mac its a bit expensive but last long and is really really good!!!! I have alredy subscribed via email! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Sonnya Devonish says:

    I use soap and water to clean my brushes. And after a while i wud use the kyrolan brush cleaner but i never used the alcohol. I surely will b tryin it frm now on

  19. Makyla says:

    I’m currently using the Bare Minerals well-cared for brush shampoo. It really does clean my brushes, but I still like cleaning with a little bit of olive oil too for added softness and conditioning. I also use the Sephora daily shampoo spray. Thanks so much for offering this giveaway! God Bless!

  20. Aliza C says:

    I am an amateur who has ventured into the beauty world and love it!!!! I usually clean my brushes with either cetaphil antibacterial soap or bath & body antibacterial soap. I used the cetaphil for its moisturizing & antibacterial components, and the bath & body for the antibacterial component as well. I usually then just shake them out, and leave them on hand towels to air dry. I never thought about using the alcohol to sanitize, so will definitely pick up a bottle and incorporate that into my brush cleaning routine. Thanks for the tip ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Keo says:

    I use an inexpensive shampoo but I recently saw a video where I think olive oil was added so they wouldn’t dry out.

  22. Shanz says:

    To clean by brushes I mix extra virgin olive oil and liquid soap together. After the first rinse I use some conditioner (any) which makes the bristles feel really soft and nice on your face after. Then I lay them to dry on a towel… Thanks for the alcohol tip! ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. M Jenkins says:

    A very mild concentration of dish liquid if I’m immersing them, if I want to do a kind of quick/dry wipe I’ll use alcohol. Drying I prefer to do in a dry or sunny part of the house, and leave them until they are 100% dry-nothing worse than a half damp brush to attract all the funky microbes in your (probably already dirty) makeup bag!

  24. Carla Pullum says:

    Dishwasher!

  25. Rosemary ford says:

    I clean my brushes with sauve shampoo
    on Saturdays no matter what i learnt a long time a go keeping clean keeps my face from flaring up

  26. Donna says:

    I wash my brushes with handsoap or my regular facial cleanser. I add to those some hydrogen peroxide and baking soda. For 2nd last rinse, swish the brush around in a solution of baking soda, hydrogen peroxide and water you will see any excdess makeup coming off. For final rinse, I use water only. I shake out the water from the brushes and usually dry in a short container with bristles up (to keep shape and for water drainage)

  27. Bianca Rogoveanu says:

    with my shampoo!

  28. Aneesa says:

    A little bit of baby shampoo in a cup with water and i leave them in there for about 5 minutes then wash them

  29. […] Remember this post here ? […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

