July empties – This ting can’t be over

I  can’t believe we’re here already.

The end of July.

More than half a year has gone and its been interesting. For me personally, the beginning of August means my birthday approaches. With every birthday I start doing an evaluation of my life and goals. It’s always a pretty intense process and a pretty revealing one.

The beginning of August also means the end of our Crop Over season here in Barbados.  For the month of July, there were parties and new calypso music and more parties and finally ending with a parade  in  the streets with feathered and beaded  costumes.

And of course my empties

.empties july

Johnson’s  Baby Oil Gel

The first empty is the Johnson’s Baby Oil gel.  Baby Oil has been a staple in homes for years. Over time mineral oil has grown out of favour with cosmetics but personally I’ve had no concerns with using these type of products. I loved the gel because it eliminated that messiness that often comes with oil . Especially useful when one uses it as a massage oil. Better yet I found that consistently using this kept all of my dry skin and ‘ashiness’ at bay for significantly longer periods than any lotion. It’s a bit too sticky for me to consistently use during the day time, but I love to anoint my body with this product at night.

Black Opal Stick Foundation.

Its been a long time since I fully used up a foundation. So to say that I was happy to actually use up one is an understatement. There are some serious pros and cons with this foundation that I discussed in this review here. All in all this foundation is excellent for its price and if you can find your shade match.

Aveeno Positively Ageless Night Cream

Did I mention I was having a birthday in August? There is nothing like a birthday to make you aware of the aging process.  Recently I’ve been trying to make decent effort to be consistent with my night-time routine and decided to finish  up this moisturiser. It has a gel type feel and is very emollient and easy to spread over the skin. It does leave the skin a tad sticky feeling but in the morning your skin feels absolutely lush.

Estee Lauder Advanced  Night Repair Serum

This serum gives my moisturiser a boost that is immediately noticeable. I received a number of these samples sometime ago and I had forgotten how great these are to give your skin that extra ‘umph’ at night. It definitely helps to plump skin and smooth fine lines  (my forehead ). I’ve heard that they have reformulated so that now it will address hyper-pigmentation.  Even better!

Morroccan Argan Oil Treatment

This treatment has significantly more argan oil than a number of treatments on the market. Argan Oil appears at number three on the list. The first two items on the list are silicones though. If your hair cannot tolerate silicones, then this treatment is not the one for you. However my hair loved this! I found it made a fantastic sealant over my moisturisers and aided in helping my hair being moisturised and supple over a number of days.

Black Opal

This Black Opal palette isn’t finished but it need to be trashed. I have had this for years.  This was one of the very first products I purchased at the beginning of my explorations in makeup. This was before I knew about sanitising of products and before I felt confident enough to wear bright / dark colours. I haven’t touched this palette in eons and it really is time I put it in the trash. It holds happy memories for me though. Many happy memories. 🙂

As I say good by these products and my twenties, I couldn’t help but start to sing this Cropover song from 2011 by one of our premier artistes Biggie Irie.

This can’t be over, can it?

Life is full of good byes, to people, products and jobs, and sometimes you just wish you had a video to keep all those good memories close. Even when you know you have to move on.

What are you saying good bye to this month ?

Until next post.

Kim

It's Kim Probably...

Posted in Hair Care, Make Up, Nail Care, Skin Care
One comment on “July empties – This ting can’t be over
  1. Lisabee says:

    Try Palmers Shea or Cocoa Butter. That works for me being in the office all day with the air condition. The leather shoes tend to suck it so re-application may be necessary. My friend Mr. Juan Ashburn is now Juan Suave due to prolonged use of these butters.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

