Lips!

I never used to be a big lipstick freak, I always thought that lipstick maybe just wasn’t for me, I stuck stubbornly to glosses, lip balms and chapstick mixed with lipstains, that is until recently, recently I discovered that perhaps I do like lipstick and that maybe I should play with the colours just a little more until I found something that works.

The key to lipstick is finding a shade and a texture that works for your skintone and preferred foundation presentation. I like to keep my foundation dewy and relatively light so I often wear matt lipsticks which balance the dewy look, but if you are an all out inch-deep, matt-face diva, Kim I’m looking at you, matt lipsticks can flatten your entire look and leave your face looking dehydrated—Kim likes sheer lipsticks and glosses so she always looks amazing. Colour is also important and purple based lipsticks are an excellent choice for dark skin while pinks and orange can be great for lighter skins.

Right now OCC Lip Tars are my favourites for mixing my perfect purple. Black Dahlia mixed with RX images-4 occ-black-dahlia-lip-tar images-2makes a beautiful deep purple and Rx mixed with Strumpet is a sexy pinky/plum. l-r OCC Lip Tars in Rx, Black Dahlia, and the pink/red range of OCC tip tars which includes Strumpet.

RNC_5825Here I am with a slightly shiny face wearing Black Dahlia and Rx with a touch of Strumpet.
OCC Lip Tars are easy to apply and you can create great depth with the shading. OCC-lips-for-Sephora-Beauty-InspirationYes, yes, I know, you can’t currently get OCC lip tars at stores in Barbados but you can get Mac’s Lipglass which comes is sexy pinks, plums, and purples. If you acquire a deep plum/purple and a pink lipglass you will be able to create depth in your lips. Apply with a lip brush instead of the applicator for precision. Use a lip primer under your lipstick to help contain possible bleeding. I’ll definitely review a few primers for you soon!

mac-trend-fw-09-collection-lipglass

* lip tip: Exfoliate your lips with your electric toothbrush!

Below are a few lip looks for you guys to try.

how-to-wear-purple-lipstick-2 images-1 147168-283x327-dark-plum-lipstick 7606032_f260
Get lippy!

Risée

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
5 comments on “Lips!
  1. Lisa B says:

    Actually, Essential Trends stock OCC Lip Tars………… check out their page Risee. I currently have three Lip Tars (Strumpet, Analog and Reverb) and I adore them!!!! Check with Dee Blackett to see when next they will restock 🙂

  2. nubienne says:

    YES! I scored! I’ll post soon!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

