Dressing the Bump

Dressing your changing shape when you are pregnant can be one of the biggest challenges a woman who loves fashion faces. In the first trimester your clothes can feel oddly tight but getting a bigger size just makes you look like you are swimming in fabric. In the second trimester you go through that awkward stage when you are too small for maternity clothes and too big for your regular clothes and in the third trimester clothing stores seem to think you’d like to look like a potato sack in HORIZONTAL stripes! Who thinks horizontal stripes are a good idea for an expanding waistline? Not I. blech!

Some of the ways I’ve been managing have included sizing up my regular clothing and avoiding anything that was originally designed to sit at the waistline. Adding a bit of volume on the bottom in the form of cargo pants is great too, anything to avoid the dreaded maxi dresses that can make short women like me just feel wide and unsexy. (If you are tall you can kill those maxi dresses, me, I just look like a pregnant hobbit)

Outfit 1.DSC_8625 I wore this to the hair salon and to run errands in Bridgetown today, from the front you can’t even tell that I’m pregnant, far less that I’ve got just a little over three months to go! The secret? This jumper has always been roomy and I was able to belt it above the belly and pull the top section over the bump. The wedges add height and give me stability, when you’re feeling blah a little height can make you feel fabulous… as long as your feet haven’t started to swell.

Outfit 2. DSC_8659This yellow dress I wore earlier in the week, again the wedges are comfy and this Rachel Roy number had a lot of room in the belly area, unless the wind blew the pregnancy was pretty well disguised. DSC_8649I love the detail on the sleeve, the bag is an original Marcelle Decaille creation and you should probably check out her store in Hincks Street, Bridgetown as I get all of my clothes from there. DSC_8650The necklace is from Shemane’s in Canary Lane and the bracelet is a silver and sandbox seed creation by local Barbadian jeweller Ryan Cummins. The shoes are BoC wedges from DSW.

Outfit 3. DSC_8768Last week’s dinner at The Tides saw this lace H&M white dress come out to play. DSC_8757I wore it with my teal Guess pumps but here I am wearing it with polkadot canvas peep-toe stilettos. The earrings are from Shamane’s and I think I got these shoes at The Shoe Palace in Bridgetown.

Outfit 4. It still fits! *insert Snoopy dance here* DSC_8639I was so excited when I was still able to fit into this one sleeved romper. I had to pull the waistband up over the bump and that of course made it much shorter but since I’m only 5’3″ this wasn’t a problem and had the effect of making my legs look longer… I’l take that! I love this thing so much, it is cute and comfy and I feel great in it! DSC_8633The shoes are a steal I grabbed on the way to the airport in Trinidad, yes, I stopped at the mall to get shoes on the way to the airport. The neon purse is from Marcelle Decaille Boutique.

Outfit 5.  The white jeans staple.DSC_8705 I’ve had this Alexis Campbell shirt for a few years now, usually I’d wear it with a leather belt but without the belt it flows quite nicely. The jeans are low rise Joe Fresh and used to fit higher up but now they button beneath the belly and they have a little stretch so they are comfy. The shoes are Guess and again scored from DSW in NYC. Earrings and bracelet from Marcelle Decaille.

Outfit 6. A basic Hanes white tank stretches over the belly and if it gets chilly at night (it gets chilly sometimes in Barbados) I throw this fur vest over everything to add a little glam. DSC_8692The pink patent leather sling-backs are from Nine West and the earrings are by Ichia Tiyi. The trick for me with these jeans was the fact that at nearly 40 I no longer have an interest in having my clothes extra tight so there was always a bit of room.DSC_8694 I always had a little room in my clothes so the few extra pounds seem to be fitting into my regular stuff for now.

Outfit 7. Work outfit. DSC_8720Trying to get the office wear up to scratch for a girl who rarely spends time in an office is a bit of thing but the best I could do was an upsized (I wear a Medium but these are a Large) pair of pedal pusher cargo pants with a basic black tank and an Express jacket I picked up for $10 at Goodwill in Palm Beach. DSC_8729The shoes are my favourite suede teal green Guess pumps and if you are wondering why I am without accessories, well this preggie girl was quite tired by the end of the shoot so if you can just use your imagination and forgive me, I’d be appreciative.

So folks this is how I’m managing, with clothes that are a little bigger than my regular size, basic tanks, clothes with a baggy shape, wedges, platforms and flowy shirts.

Stick to your regular style, just upsize it a bit, it can work for many items.

Hope that helps any preggy girls out there!

Risée

P.S thanks to Angela Sealy-The Stylist for my haircut today!

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Styling
5 comments on “Dressing the Bump
  1. J Acqui says:

    Hair looking fantastic! I love all these outfits! The white stretch jeans are a preggers staple and I wore mine with quite a similar top.I found the clothes from “big and beautiful stores as well as Gap rompers and tanks wore well into month nine and after.

    • nubienne says:

      Those Joe Fresh jeans are great! Although they aren’t maternity jeans the fact that they are low rise means they can button below the belly. Gap does have a great selection of staples that can form the foundation of many outfits.

  2. Evett E says:

    First, Congratulations and wishing you a smooth and stress free delivery on your final stretch. Secondly, the looks you put together are amazing, you make pregancy fashionable and fun. Thirdly, I know you don’t know me however but little ones love to grab shiny stuff so I am offering to hold for safekeeping for a little while the necklace and bracelet in outfit 2 and earrings in outfit 5 :). Thanks for sharing, be well.

  3. Christina says:

    Congratulations, you look lovely! Such lovely photos, you look like you were having a ball!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

