Review Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Hydrating Cleanser

6887296_600x600

 

I picked up this cleanser because I had a moment where I wondered if as I got older (over 30), I should start trying to use a more gentle cleanser on my face.

Let me tell you my expectations,

1. I thought it would would remove my make-up relatively easily as most creamy cleansers do take off make-up quite efficiently.

2. It would leave my face cleanly with out feeling too greasy and definitely not stripped.

 

So here’s what happened, I had a whole face of make-up on, Primers, Foundation, powders, blush, Mascara, Bright blue and purple Eyeshadows (cream and powder) etc etc.

I washed my face once with the Ultra Gentle cleanser, following Neutrogena’s instructions ‘Wet face. Pump cleanser into hands and massage face gently. Rinse.’

I opened my eyes and none of my make-up seemed to have moved! none!  So I went in a second time using the same method. Some of my foundation had moved but my eye make-up was completely intact!

 

I had to re-read the back of the bottle to make sure my expectations for this cleanser to remove makeup were reasonable.

 

Neutrogena says ‘

Neutrogena® Ultra Gentle Hydrating Cleanser is an effective, yet extraordinarily mild cleanser formulated with a skin nourishing polyglycerin formula that helps hydrate and protect skin while it cleans. It’s fragrance free, and ideal for dry, sensitive skin. In fact, it’s so gentle that it’s safe on even the most sensitive skin conditions, such as eczema and psoriasis. Ultra Gentle Hydrating Cleanser effectively cleanses, gently removing excess oil, dirt and make-up, and leaves skin clean and feeling moisturized for naturally soft skin every day.

 

 

See, See.. It says it’s supposed to remove make-up!

Not my make-up though.

Now, I admit that I like my make-up a little on the heavy side and since I have Oily skin I tend to use long-wearing formulas. It was clear that this cleanser was no match for these products. In the end after attempt number three I decided to switch to my tried and true Oil cleanser by MAC.

 

Now if you are the type of gyal that just wears a little bit of powder and concealer AND you have dry skin this product might work for you, but not if you like a good ‘cake face’ like I do.

 

I also tried this product in the morning, when I had no make-up on, just my moisturisers ans serums from the night before and it did leave my face feeling clean, refreshed and definitely not stripped. It also didn’t leave me with any residual over moisturised feeling on my generally oily skin.
This cleanser is not the best for  make-up wearers. which means it isn’t my first choice  but it might be a good product for those who have dry and combination skins  and who don’t wear much makeup. Have you tried it? Would you try it?

I really would like to hear your thoughts.

 

Until Next Post.

 

Bajan Beauty Blogger

P.S. Did you know I post every Friday?

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Skin Care

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

