How I use those white powders : Transparent powders

I think most make-up enthusiasts remember when transparent powders were hailed as the second coming of High Defiunpowder_one_colornition flawless faces.

I think we also all  remember those photographs of celebrities which showed us how ashy and dry (Casket Couture!) this same transparent powder can make the skin.Ashy

 

Can we just ponder the wisdom of the cosmetic industry labelling these powders as ‘transparent’ when these powders are clearly white!

Ashy 2.

Which doesn’t mean that these products are useless. These products usually have a high silica or rice powder content and have excellent oil absorbing power and for an Oily girl like me that makes it practically the holy grail.

So how do I use it and avoid looking like an ashy mess?

 

1. I used it as a primer, that is, before my powder foundation.  This is a fool proof method to avoid the ashy look graftobian white

2. When setting liquid or cream foundations I only use it on my super oily areas like my t-zone where it automatically sinks into the skin… because oily skin drinks this stuff up

3. I use a large loose powder brush when using it over foundations to diffuse the powder over the skin and avoid layering it heavily over dryer patches.

4. I use it under liquid and cream foundations as a primer. Not always my preferred method because it can affect the application of your foundation, nevertheless it works to control the oil.Anti Shine

5. Use them as heavily as you like, dust off the excess and plan never to take a picture. (yes this is an option.)

6. I mix my loose transparent powder with another loose skin-toned powder to provide a matte smooth non ashy finish

These white powders have become a staple in my make-up kit once I figured out how to best use them.

See you next week Friday! 🙂

 

By the way all powders pictured here are available in Barbados currently. Have you tried any?

 

 

 

Bajan Beauty Blogger

 

 

 

 

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
2 comments on “How I use those white powders : Transparent powders
  1. lesleylekili says:

    I have really oily skin, which of those powders is most effective and where can I purchase here in Barbados?

    Great article, thanks!

    Kindest regards,

    Dr. G. Lesley Reece Family & Aesthetic Medicine

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

