The ‘mixed’ review on ELF studio Powder Brush

I own three of these brushes.

I know that sounds like I might be a it of a makeup hoarder, but tell me something I don’t know. I tell you all about my rehab here.brush-studio-powder

I fell in love with the first studio powder brush that I bought which isn’t surprising considering the rave reviews that circulated around these brushes all over the the internet.

This is ELF’s description on their website.

This new anti bacterial, synthetic haired Taklon brush is softer and more absorbent and can be used with wet or dry products. Be a professional makeup artist and create a flawless look with this e.l.f. studio brush!
-Creates a professional sculpted look
-Full coverage color
-Use for powder or blush for perfect contouring
*Vegan Friendly’

As it relates to my first brush I agreed with all of this. The brush is densely packed flat top brush  and it allows you to buff in liquid or powder foundation to a flawless, streak-free coverage that is hard to beat.

I would say the head of the brush is relatively large and that makes it a tiny bit harder to get into those narrow areas like the area around the bridge of your nose, but the size also allows you to complete the foundation application quickly.

My biggest issue with my first brush was washing it. Because the brush is so densely packed getting all the foundation out of it was a chore but I thought it was worth it.

 

Then I bought brushes 2 and 3.

Both brushes were a bust. The head of one brush was loose straight out of the packaging. I was disappointed but not distraught. It was definitely still use-able.

However brush number 3 was a total bust! On the first use with Liquid foundation about a third of the bristles came out of the brush. I’m not talking about shedding. I’m talking about the fact that there was a noticeable gap in one specific area of the brush :/ .

 

Is this a good brush? Definitely, especially at the price point. I probably won’t buy another one though, because with only one in three brushes being manufactured at my required quality, the odds seem to be against me.

Have you tried it? What was your experience?

 

See you next Friday. 🙂

 

 

 

 

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
6 comments on “The ‘mixed’ review on ELF studio Powder Brush
  1. I loved this brush, my daughter broke it though, need to re buy.

  2. xfang says:

    I own this brush and have been using it for more than a year. So far, there’s no shedding and it applies product beautifully. If you do get one again, hopefully it’ll be a good one!

  3. […] did a review of the ELF studio line Powder brush here on the blog. It’s named a powder brush but even ELF notes that you can use this for all types of […]

  4. […] So remember when I gave you my mixed review of this ELF brush? here […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

