The curious case of the perfumed mascara – YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Shocking Mascara

I have a serious question. Why is my mascara scented?

It smells of a floral sweet scent everytime I open it. That was easily the first thing I noticed about this mascara.loaded shocking

I’m just not keen on the idea of layering perfume onto my eyelashes, all up near my eyes. My eyes aren’t particularly sensitive, so I’ve been able to get away with using this product. But, if you have allergies that affect your eyes, you may want to skip this one.

The packaging is luxe as you would expect from a luxury brand. It comes in a long slim golden tube with a slight weight to it.

The brush is a relatively narrow bristled brush in a helix design, that picks up a ton of the mascara product.

wpid-img_20150205_074052729.jpg

Mascara application straight from the tube, Upper lashes only. Note the tendency for clumping.

When I first opened the mascara it had a very wet formula and it clumped my lashes something vicious! It didn’t give any type of separation. The mascara claims to give you that dramatic (shocking ) false lash effect and it does. But, it also has a serious tendency to clump.

The best way I have found to use it is to actually scrape the bristles no less than three times off against the tube to prevent the excess product creating extreme clumping. Once I’ve done that I definitely get a fabulous mascara application.

wpid-img_20150205_090900693.jpg

Mascara after a quick run through with a lash comb

Alternatively you can apply straight from the tube and then opt to comb through the lashes with a clean mascara wand or a lash comb.
It is a super dark mascara with decent lasting power, because of it’s clumpy- ness I wouldn’t suggest applying to the lower lashes. But the one time I tried that I ended up with dark smudges under my eyes.

I found after a couple weeks of use the formula dried out just a little bit and that actually made the mascara much easier to use and reduced the clumping significantly.

The mascara is superdark and gives your eyes a liner effect with out needing to add any liner to the lash line. It definitely gives my lashes that va-va voom effect that I love.

The end result is voluptuous super dark lashes, but it’s a bit more of a time investment in mascara application than I prefer.

If you don’t mind spending the extra time to get the perfect looking lashes and the scent, and the price point this mascara might be for you.

 

As for me and my house? I wouldn’t repurchase as i’m put off by the scent and the time it takes. I definitely will be using it up though. This stuff ain’t cheap!

 

Until next time.

PS. Hit like or comment if you are amused by the face I had to create to get a good eyelash photo. 🙂

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
One comment on “The curious case of the perfumed mascara – YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Shocking Mascara
  1. […] duo MAC Faux cils n°40 Eylure faux cils n°107 Sisley crayon sourcil brun YSL Mascara volume effet faux cils noir radical Recourbe […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,441 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

