Review – Black Opal True Colour Pore Perfecting Liquid Foundation

I haven’t reviewed a Black Opal product in a minute! Which seems kind of wrong considering its pretty much a go to drug store staple for black women. There are very few drugstore foundations that have the colour range for black women that  Black Opal does.

The last item I reviewed from Black Opal was the Black Opal Stick Foundation here.

IMG_1094

Truly Topaz and Beautifully Bronze

The foundation can be found for under 29 BBD (15 USD) across  the island which  in the scheme of foundation prices puts them right on par with other drugstore foundations such as Maybelline and Loreal. The big difference is that only one formulation of Loreal has a foundation colour range to match dark skin women comparable to the Black Opal.

Black Opal promises that this foundation ‘
Helps minimize the appearance of pores, gives a matte finish , and is light to medium coverage. It is also oil, fragrance and paraben free’

The foundation applies easily to well prepped skin (moisturizer and primer). I use a half a pump of the Truly Topaz colour on the inside of my face (which is lighter and yellower) and then a little less than half a pump on the perimeter of my face (which is more red brown).IMG_1079

When applied to my skin I find it gave me a semi matte finish and an almost weightless feel. Because I am an oily girl, powdering is non negotiable, so I very lightly dusted with Black Opals loose finishing powder.
Because I use two foundation colours on my face (plus a little highlighter on the nose and forehead)  isn’t that totally matte flat. However matte foundations do give you that very flat look and this foundation is no exception.

I do have some post acne hyper pigmentation (dark spots) on my cheeks and on my chin but all of that was covered relatively easy by just dabbing a second layer on the offending spots.  However I wouldn’t suggest trying to build this foundation too much beyond two layers as it starts to crease in the lines of your face after about 4 hours and the foundation start to ‘crack’ there. I actually had a similar issue with the Stick Foundation as well. To be fair most foundations settle in my smile lines.

IMG_1087

at the end of my 8 hour day, still shiney, despite having blotted minutes before

Around lunch time (about 4 hours later ) my forehead and nose were definitely oily and not ‘highlighted’ but the coverage on the face remained intact, with the addition of my smile line creases. Around the 6 hour mark, my entire face was definitely more than a little dewy, and heading towards fried fish cake grease zone and I needed to blot!. The coverage had also started to break down just a bit. I began to see my hyper pigmentation peaking through the foundation.

In the scheme of things that is actually pretty decent performance for a foundation on oily skin, and I expect that it will perform even better when the days get a little less hot that the surface of the sun and we head into the ‘winter’ months.

Would I recommend?

Yes. Widely available, apply very lightly around any skin wrinkles. and great price point.

P.S. I love to mix my foundations with a highlighter. I mixed this foundation with MAC’s lustre drops and I got that lit from with in look, just full on glow!. Shoot.. A guy even said I looked angelic. Check it out. Admittedly this does slightly reduce the wear time of this foundation. However, I think it’s worth it.

P.S.S the lip gloss in both looks is one of my favourite nudes. MAC Lipglass in Love child.

Check out that review here.

It's Kim Probably...

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Make Up
4 comments on “Review – Black Opal True Colour Pore Perfecting Liquid Foundation
  1. Nicole says:

    I love Black Opal I really need to find this foundation! great post! x

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,442 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

